Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Before I get into my awkward dream… I mean AWKWARD!
awkward_turtle_by_wolflover38-d52thvk
Source

Lets talk about the Oatmeal Breakfast Cupcakes.  It’s not my favorite breakfast cupcake/muffin I have made, but it’s still pretty good. I am really picky about textures.  I also cut the recipe in half so it may come out better or different when using full recipe.  I am going to try again (probably a different version) and do some tweaking to get it to the consistency I like. I like softer and a little crumbly as opposed to more stiff/chewy.  A little more moisture and less time in the oven may have been better! 🙂  Either way, still good.  I froze half the batch so I can take them out as needed. Why have I not come to the realization to freeze more things in the past!? Every time I bake, I give away food, but the rest I try to eat myself so I don’t waste it… even though I may not want it.  Which = extra unneccessary pounds.   I just hate wasting food.  HELLO, ITS CALLED A FREEZER CASSI!  Well, now that I got that out of the way… 🙂

2 cupcakes topped with 1-2tbl of peanut butter and berries is filling for me. 
P1060698photo 1
Next time, with the smaller batch I will cook a few minutes less and add more moisture from possibly a mashed banana, almond milk or applesauce.

***AGAIN, I USED THIS RECIPE BELOW, BUT CUT IT IN HALF WHEN I MADE MY BATCH.*** 

Oatmeal Cupcakes To Go

(makes 24-25 cupcakes)

  • 5 cups rolled oats (400g)
  • 2 1/2 cups over-ripe mashed banana, measured after mashing (For all substitution notes on this recipe, see nutrition link below.) (600g)
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 5 NuNaturals stevia packets (or omit and use 5 tbsp liquid sweetener of choice–such as pure maple syrup or agave–instead)
  • optional: 2/3 cup mini chocolate chips
  • 2 2/3 cups water (640g) (If using the liquid-sweetener option, scale water back by 1/3 cup.)
  • 1/4 cup plus 1 tbsp oil (45g) (I really like coconut, but veg oil will also work. For lower-fat substitution notes, see nutrition link below.)
  • 2 1/2 tsp pure vanilla extract
  • optional add-ins: cinnamon, shredded coconut, chopped walnuts, ground flax or wheat germ, raisins or other dried fruit, etc.

Preheat oven to 380 F, and line 24-25 cupcake tins. In a large mixing bowl, combine all dry ingredients and stir very well. In a separate bowl, combine and stir all wet ingredients (including banana). Mix wet into dry, then pour into the cupcake liners and bake 21 minutes. I also like to then broil for 1-2 minutes, but it’s optional. These oatmeal cakes can be eaten right away, or they can be frozen and reheated for an instant breakfast on a busy day.

Original Recipe post by Chocolate Covered Katie is here!

On to more goodness…I made this little concoction up the other night.  We wanted a healthier dessert but didn’t have much around the house so this was my random collection. 🙂
photo 2
Plain greek yogurt, blueberries, pineapple, strawberry preserves, clementines, of course had to have a chocolate covered pretzel + in mine I added a macaroon. 

No workout last night unfortunately.  But tonight its going to be Day 1 of….
zl

Ok so about that dream…
It was one of those where I was up, but I wasn’t at the same time. I remember waking up, but then falling back asleep right into the same dream.  And it felt like one of those forever ones even though I know it wasn’t.  Are you ready for it?  My dream was about #hashtags.  Seriously!? Who dreams about #hashtags?!  It was intense too.  Not really sure what to make of it, but it is what it is.  I guess it’s all the blogging, twittering and instagraming lately.  Which by the way…I discovered today instagram is not kid friendly at all.  If you search for any fitness type related searches… lets just say people have no filter and post more skin then they should.  :/
So if you have kids on instagram, be careful on what they search.

Question of the day:  Have you had any weird dreams lately?
Funny Clip of the day: Fast forward to the 1 minute 30 second mark to see a live viewing of the awkward turtle.  🙂