Tags

, , , , , ,

There is never a shortage of brown banana’s in my home.  I guess it’s because I buy ones that are not green enough, so by the time I get to them… literally the next day they are 60-70% brown.  Well, what’s a girl to do? I hate wasting food! Banana bread! Yes, please. :)

This one was a hit last night! Jared said this is by far his favorite thing I have made.
I left most of the leftovers with Brandon & Victoria, then saved a slice for me and a slice for Jared to take to work today. 
I topped that baby off this morning with some peanut butter for breakfast. Oh heavenly!

bb photo (3)

Chocolate Chip Banana Bread
recipe adapted from here

Ingredients

  • 1/3 cup coconut oil (or oil/butter alternative)
  • 2/3 cup coconut sugar (or sugar alternative)
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 T vanilla extract
  • 1 3/4 cups all-purpose gluten-free flour
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1 T cinnamon (I am obsessed with cinnamon, you can use less)
  • 3/4 -1 teaspoon xanthan gum 
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 1/2 cups mashed ripe bananas (about 3 bananas)
  • 1/2-3/4 cup chocolate chips

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350.
  2. Grease 9×5-inch non-stick loaf pan.
  3. Mix together oil, sugar, eggs, and vanilla in large bowl.
  4. In a medium bowl mix flour, xanthan gum, salt, baking powder, cinnamon
  5. Mix flour mixture into egg mixture alternating with mashed bananas
  6. Beat until smooth.
  7. Stir in chocolate chips
  8. Batter will be somewhat soft. transfer to pan
  9. Bake 9×5″ loaf for 50-60 minutes

*If you are using gluten free flour, the xanthan gum is an important addition to help keep the fluffiness of the banana bread that gluten would normally provide.  But with this addition of xanthan gum, raw batter does NOT taste good so don’t lick it off the fork.  Ew :/  If you use regular flour then you can omit the xanthan gum.

On another note, look what I got yesterday! Jared is so good to me. :)
photo

Question of the day: I don’t know how the weather is by you, but here in Northern VA, it’s 70’s sunny and gorgeous.  And in this beauty, I am stuck inside an office.  If you could be doing anything right now on this gorgeous day, what would you choose to do?!

