Tags

, , , ,

For those of you who know me know I am just getting back in the kitchen again after being MIA for a while. So if you are new in the kitchen , don’t be intimidated. It’s important to make it fun and experiment. Practice makes perfect. My brother and dad were born with a natural zest in the kitchen to just whip anything up in a whim with only scraps. I didn’t get those jeans…I have to work at it and get my mind right. My calling is baking not cooking! But in the past I have made some pretty darn good meals, so its possible for anyone! I have had many failed meals along the way though. One piece of advice I can give is too start with recipes..but only as a guideline. Don’t treat recipes as a rulebook. Feel free to change ingredients up a bit or add more or less of an item to taste. If you switch out ingredients in a recipe, you will save money because you can learn to use what you have stocked in your cabinets and fridge as a substitution instead of spending money and buying something new as well as watching food spoil in your fridge. I know we have all done it! I see something in my fridge I bought a few days ago, I know its starting to go bad if I don’t use it but I don’t want to throw it away because I feel guilty… so it sits a little longer. My intention is to cook it up and throw it one of my meals later or the next day, but then I get excited about something new and rationalize… and eventually have to throw out what was a good package of vegetables because I waited too long. So what did I experiment with last night?
I don’t really have a name for what I made… but it tasted pretty good!

I know it seems like a lot of ingredients and like a lot of work, but you can’t count seasonings as work. 🙂 If you are looking to save on time, you can buy precut zucchini and onions, lime juice and minced garlic in a jar. I am a fan of fresh garlic and lime juice if it’s available.

Ingredients:

1/2 package of gluten free noodles 

Trial and error on what brands you like.  I am still experimenting to find my favorite.  I like the Quinoa pasta brand alot but I tried something new last night.  Tasted good but was a bit sticky! 

 

 

 

 

zucchini/squash

half sweet onion

2 garlic cloves

ginger to taste

sesame seeds

GF Reduced sodium tamari (about 1/4 cup)

half of a lime

scallions

1. Cook Pasta

2. While pasta is cooking, saute your onions. Halfway through add garlic, then add zucchini

After it cooks for a few minutes and softens, add a some tamari (I prefer my zucchini a little crunchy still) Then add sesame seeds & ginger.

3. Add tamari & lime juice to your noodles.

4. Lastly, top it all off with scallions and enjoy!

I personally mixed it all together at the end.

*Remember you can use any vegetables you want! What’s in your fridge?

*Optional: Add beef or chicken to your noodle stir fry. When I perfect the art of cooking beef, poultry & fish, I will get back to you with some tips. An area of mine that needs tweeking. 🙂

