Tags

, , ,

I am a HUGE Trader Joe’s fan! If you have one near you, I highly recommend you take advantage of it.  Prices are awesome and the quality is great.  When it comes to produce, they mostly keep seasonal so depending on the time of year you may find they are limited on certain things.  Don’t get me wrong, I love my Whole Foods & Wegmann’s, but I can walk out with twice as much at Trader Joe’s for half the price.   If you live in an area where you don’t have any of these stores… don’t worry because most supermarkets now are starting to carry more natural, organic, gluten free, dairy free options since it’s a higher demand now.  Anyways, now that I rambled off track here…  Since Jared was on his shift at the firehouse yesterday and then I went out for a friends birthday right after work, I was not in the mood to first make dinner for 1.  Trader Joe’s was giving samples of their premade Super Spinach Salad (Oh how I love free samples of food!) 🙂   It was fantastic!  A decently loaded salad for only $3.99.   These kinds of salads are so easy to make at home, but sometimes its nice just having it all done up for you when you are on the run.   It’s a very healthy salad, the worst thing in it is the cranberries sweetened with sugar.  If I use sweetened cranberries at home, I prefer apple juice sweetened if it’s available.  Eden Organics makes them.   Another awesome line of products! 

If you are new to eating salads, use the ingredients in this salad as a guideline to put something healthy and creative together for you and  your family.  And if you are single or its just two of you, make a big batch so you can have leftovers for lunch.   Cook once and eat 2 or 3 times!  You can add chicken instead of chickpeas for protein.  Have fun!

Quinoa, Carrots, Cranberries, Chickpeas, Edamame, Tomato, Pumpkin Seeds, Spinach & Carrot Ginger Dressing

 

