Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

Have I mentioned my love & obsession for Whole Foods?  Minus the prices…but then again, sometimes you have to pay for freshness, quality & specialties.  In the long run, if you are buying the good stuff you will save money by avoiding copay’s at the doctor.  I can’t say this time around was my “healthy” trip, more so just some extra snack type odds & ends.  Ok, I will be honest…all I really went in for is Chia Seeds, but I came out with a few extras. 

How can you not love Whole Foods?  Especially on days like today when they had live music playing.  Live music makes me so happy and I feel such peacefulness surrounding me.

1. McCutcheon’s Pumpkin Butter – Soooo good!  I know it can be hard to find good pumpkin butter.  I have tried some I do not like, but this one is awesome.  Top that on the italian crackers or toast with some chia seeds and banana… awesomness (is that a word??)  I asked the cashier if she has ever tried it cause I was wondering how it is, she said no but had her manager come over to take it off my receipt to try it for free!

2. Eden’s Buckwheat Soba noodles – This is what Ciara and I used in our concoction last Saturday.  They taste great and are GF.

3. XOCHITL – Thank to Victoria for introducing me to these chips.  The two of us are tortilla chip addicts always in search for the best.  Well boys & girls, looks like we have a winner!  The bag in the picture is actually compliments of Victoria, but I did see them at whole foods today everywhere so I decided to include them in the post. Thin & crispy… no false advertising there!!!! Also Gluten free.  🙂

4. PB2 – Normally I stick with Almond Butter, but I tend to over indulge since I love it so much.  It’s a healthy fat, but in small servings.  I ended up seeing online information about PB2 aka powdered peanut butter (also comes in Chocolate PB2), you take 2 tbs and mix with 1 tbs of water and wallah, tasty peanut butter without all the fat and calories! (For you over indulgers like me)  Great in oatmeal, crackers, mix to make a dressing… I mean anything really! Go to town 🙂 2tbs = serving: One serving fat 1.5g , 45 calories, 5 carbs, 2g fiber, 1g sugar, 5g protein

5.  Lastly, the chia seeds.  A new obsession I have fallen in love with.  I know I fall in love a lot.  I have been wanting to try them for years, not sure why I never have.  How can you crave something you have never had?  I don’t know but all week they have been all I was thinking about.  I LOVE THEM!  They are going to be a key staple in my pantry from now on.  A little expensive, but so healthy for you.   This whole foods brand bag was $15.99  One serving = 1 tbs – 60 calories, 5g fat (mostly poly & monounsaturated fat which are good fats), 5 carbs, 5g fiber, 2g protein.  It’s LOADED with omegas and other super nutrients.  It’s certainly a superfood!

Ok time to spend time with my love who finally came home! 🙂

