Tags

, , , ,

My brother Brandon found this recipe a few weeks ago for our small happy little Passover. Along side of this awesome recipe was his beef brisket (inspired by my Aunt Eileen who really knows how to cook a heck of a meal!)

These are tasty little guys…regardless of your thoughts about my horrible pictures as usual 🙂 Victoria made me this batch. Seriously, I have the best sister-n-law!!!! When I came over last night, not only did she make me a batch of these to take home, but she also bought Jared and I a hammock for our balcony!!! I LOVE HER! 🙂

They say food is the way to a man’s heart…well it’s also the way to mine. hehe

20120510-133949.jpg

20120510-134004.jpg

Ok ok I know I kept you waiting long enough, so whats the recipe?

Ingredients:

  • 1 lb sweet potatoes, peeled and coarsely grated
  • 2 scallions, finely chopped (this batch she switched it up and used diced onions)
  • 1/3 cup all-purpose flour * (we used bob’s red mill rice flour to make it gluten free)
  • 2 large eggs, lightly beaten
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon black pepper
  • 3/4 cup vegetable oil (I use safflower oil at home, better for your health under high heat cooking)

Preparation

Stir together potatoes, scallions, flour, eggs, salt, and pepper.

Heat oil in a deep 12-inch nonstick skillet over moderately high heat until hot but not smoking. Working in batches of 4, spoon 1/8 cup potato mixture per latke into oil and flatten to 3-inch diameter with a slotted spatula. Reduce heat to moderate and cook until golden, about 1 1/2 minutes on each side. Transfer latkes with spatula to paper towels to drain.

Eat plain or dip in unsweetened apple sauce. 🙂

Recipe Source

The best part of my lunch today?  I got to see my little man!  He is coming up on 6 months old.  Call me biased, but he is the cutest little guy in the world.  We are a blessed family and I am a proud Aunt! 🙂

 

 

20120510-134014.jpg

