Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

If you’re not huge into veggies but you do like garlic this is a great beginner dish for you to try.  It can be made using all different vegetables.  Zucchini is another favorite I like to make this dish with. 

Ingredients:

Asparagus

Sweet Baby Peppers

Garlic & Salt

Extra Virgin Olive Oil (EVOO)

Preheat oven to about 425 degrees.  Rinse your vegetables, then try them and throw into a large bowl.  Add enough EVOO to moderately coat the vegetables.  From there, lay everything on a baking sheet and cook for 15-20 minutes.  (Depending on how crunchy or soft you would like it.) After its finished, sprinkle garlic powder and salt on it.  If you have fresh garlic, feel free to cut that up and throw it on top of the vegetables about 5-10 minutes before you are going to take them out.  (Or you can use whole garlic cloves as well!).  I am all about finger food to grab n go and these are just that.  Keep in mind when you are cooking them, if you decide to reheat them for later in the week, they will get soft so you may want to leave them slightly crunchy during the initial roasting)

Jared HATES vegetables and he loved the asparagus!  Phew, what a relief…

On another note, if you are looking for time savers, pre-wash, cut and pack!  I do not like washing and cutting my fruit and vegetables everyday.  AT ALL.  It’s only fun if I really have the time to spread out in the kitchen and cook.  Rare occasions… Last night I bought a huge container of strawberries, blueberries, carrots and a fresh cucumber.  (Amongst other things:/ – I only went in for one item and I came out with more bags than I could handle, funny how that happens).  Anyways, I took the time today to prewash everything, then cut and made it look pretty and put everything in containers.  Again, I love finger food.  (Hence my love for chips and cookies) But if I know the fruit and veggies are ready to go, I am more likely to grab it as opposed to the “Oh but then I have to get the cutting board, strainer, knife…” and blah blah blah.  I know what you are thinking.  This girl is lazy!  We all are sometimes. 🙂  Anyways, take a few minutes early in the week and get this done! Let me know if you feel better and start “snacking” on better items. 

