Tags

, , , ,

I was tapping into my creative side last night and really needed to do something with the 2 eggplants I had bought last week.  Whats better than french fries?  Guiltless french fries!  There are many variations to work with on this recipe. 

Baked Eggplant Frites! 
Happy hour, dinner, snack – YOUR CHOICE!

  

Ingredients:
-2 Eggplants
-Safflower or Coconut Oil (or any high heat tolerant oil)
-1/2 Cup of seasoned gluten free bread crumbs or other seasoned flour of your choice.  (To make this paleo use almond flour mixed with seasonings) – This is what I plan to do, but I am still waiting for my almond flour to come in the mail!! YAY!!! So excited to bake and cook with it.

Directions:
Preheat oven to 400 Degrees
Cut the eggplant into fry or bit size pieces
Gently coat them with a little bit of oil (just enough so the flour/bread crumbs stick)
Dip and roll in the breadcrumbs
Lay on a cookie sheet (I coated my cookie sheet with coconut oil spray)
Cook for approx 30 mins (depending on how crispy you want it)
*optional, broil on high heat for 3-4 minutes to crisp a little extra

To compliment my eggplant fries, I dipped them in tomato basil sauce I had on the side.  Delicious!  It was like a mozzarella stick but not… 😛

TIP: If you get sauce, be sure to find one that does not have white sugar in it, as MANY do.  Also watch the sodium content

Simple as that! 

BE CREATIVE & ADD ANY FLAVORS, SPICES OR DIPPING SAUCES YOU WANT! 

Too bad Jared was not able to enjoy them with me. 😦 He ended up with nearly 102 degree fever last night! In the midst of that he was still trying to make calls and work his calendar for our business even though I was trying to make him go to sleep.  What a trooper!

This afternoon my roomie Toby went on his merry way back home to his parents!  He was so excited to see Victoria, he left her a present halfway on our walk over to their place.  Victoria was there to meet me half way and save the day! 😉  THANKS VICTORIA!!!!

Check back for my next post…. Paleo GUILTLESS Apple Crisp!

