Tags

, , , , , ,

Who doesn’t love a good apple crisp!? Especially an apple crisp that you can accidently have a little too much of and still feel …ummm… healthy?

This doesn’t compare to my Aunt Eileen’s out of this world Apple Crisp she made me a few months ago…but no one cooks like her! ūüôā

But considering this apple crisp was made with ZERO sugar outside of the natural apple sugars, it tasted pretty darn good.¬† If you are like me, I am avoiding sugar of any sort right now¬†because it causes me severe breakouts as well as stomach aches.¬† I cheat here and there with honey or agave and fruit… but¬†thats about it.¬† If I do need to sweeten things, I¬†usually stick with NuStevia, but I don’t use much since it’s so strong.¬† (This brand has no bitter taste)

I used this recipe as my base, but mine was slightly different.¬† I cut the portion in half since I only used 2 apples (I used green).¬† I used pumpkin spice in place of cinnamon.¬† I used rice flour instead of almond flour (again, only cause I am still waiting for my almond flour to arrive! ūüė¶ ) I used walnuts instead of almonds.¬† This is again one of those great recipes you can tweek and just throw whatever extras you have around the house in.¬† Cranberries, chia seeds, if you are eating grains¬†you can throw in gluten free oats, honey, maple syrup, coconut palm sugar… etc…
I did add a hint of NuStevia, but barely.¬† Honestly it didn’t even need it¬†, especially since I am trying not to get hung up on making things taste sweet.¬†¬†

I probably could have cooked mine longer¬†but I got antsy and wanted to try it… ok and it was midnight and I was falling asleep and wanted to go to bed.¬† Top this off with frozen banana ice cream (freeze banana pieces for a few hours… blend…enjoy) and you got yourself quite a treat!

Apples:

  • 4 Apples, peeled and sliced
  • 1 tsp. Cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp. Nutmeg
  • 1/4 tsp. Ground Ginger

Crisp Topping:

  • 2 Tbsp Coconut Oil, melted
  • 1/2 cup Almond Flour/Meal
  • 1/4 cup Ground Flax Seed
  • 1/4 cup Almonds, sliced
  • 1/4 cup Shredded Unsweetened Coconut
  • 1 Tbsp Vanilla Extract
  • 1 tsp. Cinnamon
  • Dash of Sea Salt

Instructions

Preheat oven to 350.
Toss together all Apple ingredients, in a bowl.
Place in a 9√ó9 pan or pie pan.
Mix crisp topping ingredients together.
Top with apples with crisp topping mixture.
Bake for 45-60 minutes, until apples are soft and topping is golden brown

Recipe Inspiration

