Tags

, , , , ,

The carb and dessert lover I am, I am always in need of finding great recipes that I don’t have to sacrafice those cravings OR feel terrible after eating them.  You know those people who cook and bake up a storm but then don’t want to eat after they cooked everything?  I am not one of those people! I eat before, during & after.  🙂  Finger lickin’ goood!

These muffins are grain free (so yes that means gluten free), refined sugar free & dairy free.  I know what you’re thinking…what’s left to make it taste good!?  Lots!! They are not overly sweet, rather just right.  If you want to add a little extra pzaz to ’em, you can toast them and top with almond butter, chocolate hazelnut butter (not sugar free), pumpkin butter (not sugar free), fresh preserves… anything really. Be careful what you add though, because then it will defeat the purpose of this sugar- free breakfast/snack.

Pre Baking:  Yes, I did pull a sneak and taste some batter…and it rocked… so I knew the muffins were a hit before I cooked ’em.

Ingredients:
(Makes 8-10 muffins)

2 1/4 cups almond flour (I used Honeyville… I can’t speak for other brands.  I got wind this brand is the best) It’s extremely fine and nice to cook/bake with.
2 ripe bananas
1/4 tsp sea salt
1/2 tsp baking soda
1 Tbsp cinnamon
4 Tbsp coconut oil
3 eggs
splash of vanilla extract
1 cup walnuts, chopped

*Optional: 1 cup non dairy chocolate chips  (Although it would have tasted amazing, I did not use any this time around
*Optional: 1 Tbl of RAW honey ( I did use a little, but honestly doesn’t even need it)

I also topped mine with coconut flakes and flaxseed.  Next time I think I will toast the coconut first so they won’t be glowing white in my pictures. 🙂  And cause I love the crunch of toasted coconut!

Directions:
Preheat oven to 350 degrees
Mash banana with a fork, then add eggs, vanilla extra and melted coconut oil
Next mix the rest of the dry ingredients together, then slowly mix in with well blended wet ingredients.  Use either cupcake foils or spray a little coconut oil to grease cupcake pan.  Scoop about 1/4 cup into cupcake pan slots and cook for 15-20 min. 

Of course there was no way I was going to wait until they cooled down before I dove into one… Mmm – The walnuts added a really nice crunch as well! Super moist, super good.

If you read last week one of my posts, you will rememeber my pumpkin muffins were a complete fail, so I am very pleased today!  Hey, it costs money and takes time, who wants to throw away whole batches of items cooked!??!

Recipe adapted from here

