Tags

, , , ,

Sorry about the bursts of posts lately. Cramming a lot in since I am so behind on posting! I keep this one short and to the point.  ***Update: sorry not as short as I thought… but its mostly pictures and recipes 😉

Yesterday’s yumminess in a jar. Who knew mason jar’s can be so enjoyable?!? My new favorite kitchen accessory for sure! (Next time my vitamix and icook knives of course!)

Green Breakfast Smoothie

1 small banana (freeze night before if you remember) – which I never do, hence the ice cubes 🙂
1-1.5 cups of spinach or other green leafy vegetable of choice
1 cup of unsweetened vanilla almond milk
approx 1 T of flax
dash of pumpkin spice and nutmeg
3-4 ice cubes
*optional vanilla or chocolate protein powder
*1 T of almond butter optional or PB2

*Mix in blender and enjoy.

This is so tasty and so filling believe it or not. Tied me over till lunch. I am telling you drink it out of a 16oz mason jar! Makes it tastes so much better and more fun. Get a color straw and go to town.

Overnight Oatmeal – Step away from the sugar and simple carb filled cereals and try this instead!
If you’re really not ready for the bright green breakfast, but still need something quick you can grab and go with…

1 Mason Jar
1/2 cup of gluten free oats (not instant)
1 cup of unsweetend vanilla almond milk
1 T chia seeds (they expand in moisture which allows oatmeal to thicken overnight)
1 T almond butter
*Optional: Dash of Pumpkin Spice (can you tell I love pumpkin spice?)
*Optional sweetners: NuStevia, Raw honey, small banana, berries, fresh preserves, pumpkin butter)
*Optional: 2 T of plain greek yogurt to create a thicker, creamier consistency (I did not use yogurt)

Mix it all together and refrideragte for a few hours or overnight. In the morning add an extras such as fruit or walnuts. (The walnuts can be added in the night before, but I prefer them fresh and crunchy, not soaking in the oats)

Tip: If you have an almost empty peanut butter or almond butter jar, make this in there so you can scrape all the gooey deliciousness off as you eat your oatmeal.

Prepare 2 or 3 of these at once if you want, since they last for 2-3 days.

May not look pretty (I’m still learning how to master presentation) 😛 but it doesn’t look pretty in your mouth or belly either, that doesnt mean it doesn’t taste good right? 😉 Looks aren’t everything.

Ok one more… WINGS WINGS WINGS! I love wings!!!!!!!!! (Says the former 8 month vegan)

Simple Snazzy Wings (Thank you Brandon for helping us perfect this simple recipe that we some how messed up last time) I know… don’t judge. We don’t judge around here…

Ingredients:

Package of organic wings (vegetarian fed, no hormones, antibiotics etc…)
Salt & Pepper to taste
Coconut Oil

Directions

Preheat oven to 415 Degrees
Grease baking tray with coconut oil (coconut oil has high tolernace for heat so it doesn’t release free radicals)
Rinse wings and coat with salt and COARSE ground pepper to taste (coarse ground pepper rocks I tell ya!)
Cook for 45 minutes (turn over halfway)

Jared and I devoured ’em!

Lastly, as per a special request, here is an addtional Nerd picture!

20120601-153209.jpg

These are nerds!! C’mon you remember these guys? 🙂

Source

Enjoy the rest of your day everyone!  I’ll be home alone tonight baking and watching movies keeping myself occupied hoping we don’t get a tornado…
Tonights menu is homemade gf baked chicken nuggets, so check back on the recipe! (and maybe grain free fococcia flaxseed bread??)

