Tags

, , , , ,

Hope everyone had a great weekend! As we had a huge storm come through our way on Friday and since Jared was working, I stayed in and baked and watched movies. The stubborn person I am, I HAD to stop at the food store before I went home (and let out Toby) even though it was about to come down bad as the dark skies rolled in. Unfortunately, due my stubbornness, it came down pretty bad 2 minutes before I got home…needless to say the trip from the truck to my apartment didn’t end 100% well. My WHOLE ENTIRE BAG of groceries fell right through the paper bag. Of course I had to have eggs in there! AND it fell right where the waterfall was coming down from the overhang on the second floor…. by the time I got to my door I looked like I fell into a pool.
20120605-095407.jpg

20120605-095507.jpg

After I came back to salvage them, turns out I only lost 4 lil guys! Looked messier then it was. Phew! That would have interferred with my baking…

FINALLY after drying off, I baked some grain free bread.  Came out pretty good.  There are a few tweeks I think I will make next time such as less egg and add some almond flour, but other than that pretty good for grain free bread!

Benefits of Flaxseed

  • high in omega-3 essential fatty acids
  • high in fiber
  • high in antioxidants

Ingredients

2 cups flax seed meal
1 Tbsp baking powder
1 teaspoon salt
1-2 Tbsps healthy sweetener (Stevia, Raw Honey, coconut sugar)
5 beaten eggs (or equivalent alternative like Ener-G Egg Replacer)
1/2 cup water
1/3  coconut oil, melted (other healthy fats may be substituted)

Directions

1.  Preheat oven to 350 F. Grease pans (coconut oil works great!).
2.  Mix dry ingredients well — a whisk works well.
3.  Add wets to dries and combine well. If using eggs, make sure there aren’t obvious strings of egg in the batter.
4.  Let batter set for 2 to 3 minutes to thicken up some (leave it too long and it gets past the point where it’s easy to spread.)
5.   Spoon batter into pan and spread out. (I used a 10×13)
6.   Bake for about 20 minutes, until it springs back when you touch the top and/or is visibly browned.
7.   Cool and cut into whatever size slices you want.

Reciped adapted from here

