Tags

, , ,

Peanut butter + Chocolate = Love. From time to time I experiment with other recipes that don’t involve chocolate, but somehow I always turn back to chocolate. We were destined to be together. I wish I could say I made the recipe up myself, but as usual I am just a good copycat.
photo 3
One thing I did change was I created them into 24 mini cups & 2 large cups instead of 12 large. They are pretty filling. A few years ago I made 12 large ones and it was just too much in one sitting.
(I just reread this and it sounds like I tried to eat all 12 in one sitting.  Ouch. That would be painful.  Nope, just one little guy…and it was MORE than enough!) 

(Makes 12 Large or 24 mini)
Recipe:
1/2 Cup Earth Balance Butter
3/4 cup crunchy peanut butter (pref unsweetened/unsalted)
3/4 cup graham cracker crumbs or 10 graham cracker squares
1/4 cup maple sugar or other sugar of choice
1 cup of chocolate chips
1/4 cup soy, rice or nut milk
1/4 cup chopped nuts (optional)*

Directions:
Line a muffin tin (12 or 24) with paper lines
Melt the butter in a small saucepan over medium heat
Stir in the peanut butter, graham cracker crumbs, and maple sugar and mix well. Remove the mixture from the heat.
Evenly divide the mixture, approximately 2 Tbl per cup for the large or 1 Tbl per cup for mini in the muffin tins
Combine the chocolate and milk in another pan.
Stir over medium heat until the chocolate has melted.
Spoon the chocolate evenly over the peanut butter mixture.*
Top with chopped nuts.  (Or extra graham crackers!)
Place in the refrigerator to set for at least 2 hours before serving.

*I put the cups in the freezer for about a half hour before I poured the chocolate over it so the cups were firmer and the chocolate didn’t ooze into the middle.  Although I am sure that it will still taste awesome.

(I skipped the chopped nuts since I love my man so much and he hates when I bake nuts inside of or on things. I know what you’re thinking…but this is made with peanut butter… well first, peanuts are not really a nut. It’s in the legume (bean) family. But that’s neither here nor there. He is okay with nut butters, just not whole crunchy nuts. Me on the other hand, I love the the contrasting texture of soft mixed with a bit of crunch so I only added on mine!)

Keep these treats in the fridge to stay chilled.  Much better that way.

This recipe is from Alicia Silverstones “The Kind Diet” book.

If you want to try a healthier alternative, consider testing these delicious little guys! They are on my list to try. 🙂

P.S. Clearly Jared and I should NOT go into the gingerbread house making market…
Retractable roof.  Why not?
photo 2
Tip of the day: Pick up a mini notebook and keep it with you to keep all of your awesome ideas, goals and dreams for 2013 in once place.  Something about writing it in a notebook rather than the phone makes it so much more real and exciting!
photo 1

Question of the day: What fun new cardio have you started for 2013 to get your body moving?

