Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Happy Tuesday everyone! Since I include (and will continue to include) many HIIT workouts as well as Tabata workouts, I want to give those of you who are not familiar with them, what they are and why they are so good.  Keep in mind, these ARE indeed high intensity, so you may need to alter moves to suit your needs and abilities.  Over time you can build up.  Keep in mind, I am not a trainer by any means so always consult with a professional if you are unsure. 

HIIT Benefits:
-Serious fat burner! Burn fat hours after workout is complete
-Do it at home.
-Only 4-20 minutes depending on workout (no excuse you have no time…only laziness!)
-Little to no equipment.  (Some use weights, but it’s not necessary)

*For more details, let google be your friend! 🙂

Tabata (A form of HIIT): ONLY 4 MINUTES!
“This high-intensity training is fun, blasts calories, and moves so quickly it’s hard to get bored. For tabata, you perform an exercise at maximal intensity for 20 seconds, followed by 10 seconds of rest. You repeat this pattern a total of eight times, making one tabata round four minutes” Source with example of a Tabata workout
Here is another page from The Fitnessista with great Tabata workouts or check her YouTube channel.

I think we can all handle four minutes a day! Again, if you are not used to this kind of intensity, use alternative slower pace movements (I suggest to avoid if you have knee problems). 

Zuzkalight.com workouts are also a form of HIIT, but longer and more intense.  Usually 12-15 minutes.

For those who are not into fitness or high intensity workouts, I suggest at least 20-30 minute walks a day and lift a few light weights to start off.  Or sign up for a dance class!

If HIIT/Tabata and walking are not your thing, check out this new fitness/pilates blog I came across. Cassey Ho at Blogilates  She also has a blogilates youtube channel posting dozens of quick 15 minute pilates videos.  She has a fun personality so the workout won’t be boring. I personally have not tried the workouts yet, but I will soon.  They are much more low-key options, but still effective!  

What are you doing to get your body moving today?  Moving your fingers on the remote control or ipad does not count.  😉

Ok, I have a confession.  We all get our bad cravings.  Well last night, all I wanted was penne with alfredo! It’s been years since I have ever ordered a dish like that in a restaurant. Don’t get me wrong, I have had pasta…but usually when I go to other people’s homes or parties and I pick at their food with generous servings. But I never order a bowl of pasta in a restaurant.  Well, that changed last night.  After Momma and I visited my stepfather at the hospital (he just had a kidney transplant), we indulged in some Macaroni Grill delight.  They have gluten-free penne, so it was a top choice.  Although I have not been 100% GF lately, I try to remain so at least 80% of the time if the option is available. 
P1060476

The above is my bowl of goodness.  GF Penne with artichoke, butternut squash and parmesan crusted chicken in Alfredo sauce.  It was delicious, but I barely even ended up eating any.  Forgot how filling that stuff is, especially when it’s at 9pm!  Or the piece of bread I ate beforehand could have done it. 😉  Don’t worry it didn’t go to waste.  Today’s lunch was…super!

Below was moms dish. Some sort of 4 cheese tortellini with butternut squash, prosciutto in a truffle cream sauce.  Also delish.

P1060477

To burn some of that goodness off, I ended my night with Zwow#47.  Hopefully I will start falling asleep before 2am soon so I can get in some morning workouts instead!

Another Confession:  Although I do not have cable nor care much for TV (movies, YES!)… I LOVE The Bachelor show! I’m hooked.  Really.  Thank gosh for Hulu’s free next day airing! So excited it’s back on. I missed most of the last 2 seasons.  Hopefully I will be able to keep up with this one. 

Question of the day:
Do you have any guilty confessions?

