Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

During my 9 hour workday, the days are LONG.  But really, the weeks just FLY by.  I thought I wrote about 3 days ago.  Turns out it’s been a week. My bad. :/  There has been a lot going on over the last week (actually few weeks).  It’s so easy to end up on autopilot.  When we become conscious and catch ourselves, that’s really the time to stop, sit & reflect.  Are we using our time wisely? What can I do differently to make this week even better than the last? Am I managing my time well?  If we know on a daily, weekly & monthly basis what we are trying to accomplish, it’s that much easier to manage our time.  Every time I stop using my calendar/to do list, I end up doing things all day, but at the end of it all, it seems like none of the important stuff got done.  Even when it comes to eating healthy.  It takes planning and time! We all have our days, but it’s best to have less of those than more, wouldn’t you agree?!

To catch up on the last week, we will stick with picture stories. 🙂  With Jared sick all week, there was not too much excitement over the weekend.  Actually, my whole family was sick.  😦

P1060562breakfast cookie dough oatmeal cereal. Trying to pour milk and take a picture at the same time = not easy.  I’ll get there eventually! (side note: it took 2 days and A LOT of pictures to even get this decent one…yes I ended up with TOO much milk in my bowl) practice makes perfect. 🙂

P1060564
Lunch last week.  Ultimate grilled cheese sandwich.  Avocado, egg (mine got over cooked 😦 ), spinach & mozzarella.

P1060646This weekends blueberry pancakes.  Made with bob’s red mill gluten free flour mix.
P1060660

Pineapple Fried Rice.  This was a success! Yay for successful meals. I pretty much winged it since I was in a rush and didn’t have a recipe.

Pineapple Fried Rice
4 servings of precooked brown rice (I used trader joes frozen which was 2 packages)
2 eggs
about 1/4 cup scallions
sesame seeds
soy sauce or tamari to taste
2-3 long pineapple chunks
salt to taste
about 1/4 cup of finely chopped onion
2-3 garlic cloves or 1 tsp of pre-crushed garlic/paste
(shrimp would  be great in this too,  but I didn’t have any)

*mixed it all together and wallah! I didn’t really measure anything so I cant give exact amounts.  Fortunately, this is an easy recipe to add as necessary if the flavor isn’t quite right.  I sauteed the garlic and onion first, then added the other ingredients and then the brown rice last.  I also added more scallions at the end.

P1060697
Dinner Fail.  Leftovers are actually waiting for me on the table now.  When we perfect this one I will post the recipe.  Looks good, but the turkey was wayyy under seasoned!

P1060710
Look what came in the mail today!!! I am so excited about this if you remember from this post.

A highlight this weekend was watching the Miss America Pageant on Saturday.  Go Miss NY! Represent!  Artistry Skincare & Cosmetics sponsors the Miss America organization and its what all the contestants wear, which is really cool because that’s the company I endorse.  Best skin care and makeup ever!

Last nights workout was zwow#48. Only 12 minutes, but tiring! Really worked the arms a lot.  Thank gosh Jared was staring at his phone and not watching me cause I was getting skimpy on my workout in the end.

Over the weekend I tried out one of Blogilates workouts. (HIIT mixed with Pilates)  It wasn’t too crazy, but def felt a burn. (only about 10 min). I will be trying more of her workouts in the future.   Probably best if combined with something else as well.

Last week I did The Fitnessista’s 4 minute Tabata workout with Jared.  And wow that “short” 4 minute workout was a doozy.  Jared and I felt it for a few days.  I think that may be on tonight’s list again.  For day’s he was telling me his butt hurt.  I guess my recovery time is quicker. 🙂

This month has been really tough getting in the routine of working out.  Not in the mood doesn’t even touch on it.  BUT I am getting ready for this mud run/5k in April so I gotta push on even when I don’t feel like it!  This time it’s a team effort so I don’t want to let my teammates down.  And the feeling of accomplishment after a good workout is worth the effort we had to put into it.

Question of the day:  What helps you manage your time and be productive throughout the week?

