Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

I was up before the sun this morning! If you want to know why, you will have to read on. 🙂
486098_899203747162_291424825_n 19329_899205269112_216535404_n

I’ve got so many things to catch up on and post, including some homemade coconut shrimp, cupcakes, breakfast wraps, cast iron skillet steak dinner and so on… but today is about apple cinnamon bun muffins.  Boy, I have been on quite the muffin kick lately.  I threw away about 30 muffins earlier this week due to a couple failed outcomes. :/ Hate wasting food and money…. but that’s the life of an experimental upcoming baker genius. 😉 

P1060942 P1060951

So the recipe of these delicious delights. 
Cinnamon Apple Swirl Muffins
Gluten free, dairy free, grain free, refined sugar free, paleo

Recipe adapted from here and here.

Ingredients:
4 tbsp virgin coconut oil, melted but not hot (plus more, for greasing)
4 tbsp honey
6 large eggs
1 tsp vanilla extract
1/2 cup sifted coconut flour
1 tsp ground cinnamon
1/2 tsp aluminum-free baking powder
1/4 tsp salt
1 Granny Smith apple, grated with the peel on
1/4 cup chopped nuts/berries (optional choices)
(I threw in a few blueberries to the mix since I had to use them up.)

Cinnamon Topping Ingredients
2 tablespoons of ground cinnamon
4 tablespoons of honey (or other sweetener)
2 tablespoons of unsalted butter, melted (ghee or coconut oil will work too)
1/4 cup of chopped walnuts (optional; or other nut)

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.
2. Blend the coconut oil with the honey. Blend in each egg one at a time, along with the vanilla extract. The coconut oil may curdle, but that’s ok.
3. Fold in the coconut flour*, cinnamon, baking powder, and salt. It may clump a bit, but just use a wire whisk to whip the mixture about 10 times, or until the batter smooths out.
4. Fold in the apple (including any juice that may have come out), nuts, and raisins.
5. Lightly grease muffin tin with coconut oil or insert 12 paper muffin cups. Divide the batter evenly amongst each cup and smooth over with the back of a spoon.
6. Drip the cinnamon topping over the top of each muffin. Some of it will sink into the muffin batter. You can use a toothpick to poke the topping into the batter, to get more of the topping to spread into the batter. (If you need to, you can warm the topping in the microwave to soften it so it spreads onto muffins easier)
7. Bake approx 25 minutes or until a pick inserted in the center of a muffin comes out clean

*If you have a sifter, I recommend sifting the flour since coconut flour can easily clump. I don’t have one, but it still came out great.  Just need to work a littler harder to get everything combined.
*The reason for so many eggs is because coconut flour soaks up a lot of moisture, so you need extra moisture in order to keep from getting a dry and crumbly finished product.  Other options if you run out of eggs are using apple sauce, banana or a flax egg.

Random note, had a delicious lunch the other day.  Organic romaine, with tomato and tuna, topped with goat cheese. 
The tuna is Victoria’s staple recipe. It’s so simple and I love it!
Yellowfin tuna in olive oil, mayo, plain greek yogurt or non dairy yogurt, (I use plain greek yogurt) generous handful of chopped sweet onion, salt, pepper & paprika
P1060925

Upcoming recipes
:
Fresh Hot Cocoa
P1060938
Jared: “How is it that you use a paper towel for your mess, yet -THIS- (circling his finger around my mess on the counter) always happens?” 
Yea, that’s a great question.  And I can’t answer it.  Sorry babe.  At least you got yummy muffins and hot chocolate out of my mess. 😉

P.S. He always cleans up after me cause he is anal in the kitchen and prefer’s he does the cleaning of the dishes and dishwasher organizing.  FINE BY ME!!!! Love that deal. 😉  I clean up after his clothes that trail though.  We make a good team.

Also coming soon: Vanilla cupcakes with maple cinnamon frosting. The frosting is fantabulous! Is that a word? Well, it is now.
P1060849

Today is day 9 of my 90 day zuzana workout challenge.  Wooohoo.  I already feel amazing, got so much stronger & toned.  Keep in mind I have also dramatically cut the garbage food out of my life.  Not to say I don’t still have my chips and chocolate (my weaknesses), but I just limit it as a treat.  Which is how it should be. For me, if I cut something out of my life 100% that I LOVE, I get depressed, then binge. No good!!!

I will touch on meal planning/ideas and mindful eating this week.

Something to watch: Fat loss – Self Control
Song of the day: Great for working out! Ellie Goulding – Lights

