I know I promised this a while ago, but every time I wanted to make a second batch things came up.  I wanted to get that second batch in before I gave the recipe to make sure it really was this awesome.  And guess what? Came out even better this time! My amazing sister-n-law Victoria called me to tell me it was orgasmic.  She does not lie to me. Ever. haha  Jared also said it was the best thing I have made thus far.  Woop woop!
The first time I made it in loaf form a few weeks ago (Sorry about the crappy pictures, lighting was horrible. Don’t Judge!).
photo 1

 photo 2

Last night I decided to make them in cupcake/muffin form.  Either way works.
Jared threw the cup of milk into the picture as I was taking it.  He is so stinkin’ cute. 🙂 
photo 4 photo 5
Banana bread background.  This recipe was inspired by my Grandma (my mom’s mom).  She is an amazing cook and baker and banana bread has been one of her famous specialities.  After numerous other muffin and banana bread attempts of my own, it finally dawned on me… hello Cas, get Nanny’s recipe! And so I did… and I recreated a gluten-free, refined sugar-free, dairy free, nut free version.  Hallelujah!

I dedicate this recipe to Nanny. She is amazing and one of the most incredible ladies I know.  I love you so much! (And yes, she reads my blog, because she knows how to use a laptop and is that awesome!) 🙂

Okay okay! Stop yelling at me…
Here is the recipe.

GF Chocolate Chip Banana Bread – Inspired by the one and only Grandma Fran

Ingredients:
2 C all-purpose Gluten Free flour (I used the Trader Joes brand and LOVE it!!!!)*
1 tsp baking soda
1 tsp xanthan gum
1/2 cup mini non-dairy chocolate chips (optional)
3/4 C coconut oil
1/2-3/4 cup of coconut sugar (or other sugar alternative of choice)*
2 eggs
1 tsp vanilla
2 1/2 RIPE bananas (approx 1 cup)
Sour Milk (4 Tbl Almond or other non dairy milk/1 Tsp Vinegar or Lemon Juice) – Let sit for 5 minutes.
*Fun optional add-ins: nuts, cranberries, cinnamon

Directions:
Preheat oven to 350 Degrees
9×5 Loaf Pan – 50-60 minutes
Cupcake Pan (16-18 Cupcakes) 18-22 minutes

Melt the coconut oil and put in a bowl, add sugar, mix in one egg at a time. 
Mix sour milk with bananas then add to bowl
Mix dry ingredients separately, then mix into liquid ingredients.*
Add to baking pans (either grease with coconut oil or use cupcake liners)
Bake. Eat. Enjoy.

Good luck waiting until they cool down before little hands go after them. 
 
* For the flour, the TJ brand is mainly from brown rice flour and other mix ins.  Its a great flour combination.  Bob’s red mill is mainly bean flour so the consistency may be different.  I have not tried this recipe with that flour yet as I have been staying away from it.  Beans do not sit well with me in any way shape or form, so I realized why the heck do I keep baking with that flour!? (Figures I have a ton of it left too! ugh)  If you try it, let me know!
*I like coconut sugar since its much lower on the glycemic index which means it is released slowly into the body and won’t give you a sugar rush and crash (A HUGE factor in cause of cravings and the munchies!). I bought a big bag at Costco for $9.99! If you buy it at stores like Whole Foods, you are going to pay a fine price for it. :/  For the muffins last night, I used 1/2 cup coconut sugar, 2 packets of NuStevia and two drops of vanilla liquid stevia.  You don’t need to do that, I was just experimenting.  Plus the ripe bananas and chocolate chips add a great hint of additional sweetness. 🙂
*In GF baking, it’s especially important to mix dry ingredients separate first, as you want the xantham gum to be evenly distributed.  This will add fluffiness to your gluten-free bread/cake/muffin.

Guess what!? The uncooked batter didn’t taste bad, even with the xanthan gum!  If you remember last time, I wanted to gag when I tried it uncooked.  Now I don’t recommend you eat it, but I was curious if the rice based flour I am now using tastes different with the xanthan gum than the bean flour… and it def did!

Thought of the day: Has anyone every tried guided imagery meditation/relaxtion methods? If so, what do you think? Do you have any favorites?  Find any great apps on your phone?

