Tags

, , , , ,

These little guys are awesome as an appetizer or if you are anything like me… you will eat half the batch yourself as a meal. 😉  Lonely nights while J is at work. :/

Quinoa bites

They were so quick and easy!!! And like most of the recipes I post, there is room for creativity.  Use what you have around the kitchen/fridge and mix it together! Clearly, that is what I did. You can see the creepy black dots in my pizza bites. Unfortunately, I only had the tri-color quinoa.  For appealing purposes, I suggest going with white quinoa. 😉 I also subbed out pepperoni in the original recipe and used turkey sausage and I used goat cheese instead of mozzarella.  

(When you see original recipe, you will noticed I cut mine in half and made 22 bites instead of 40)

Quinoa Pizza Bites (about 22 pizza bites)
1-1/4 Cup of cooked quinoa
1/2 Cup chopped onion*
1 Egg   
1/2 Cup goat cheese
1 tsp minced garlic
1 tsp basil (or 1/4 cup fresh if available)
1/2 cup of turkey sausage or turkey bacon
1/4 tsp salt
1/2 tsp paprika
1/2 tsp oregano
pizza sauce for dipping

*If you have time, try sauteing the onions first. Mmm.

1. Preheat oven to 350
2. Mix all ingredients together (except pizza sauce)
3. Scoop about 1 TBL of mix into greased mini muffin tins (pack firmly)
4. Bake 15-20 minutes*

*Let them cool before you take them out of pan or they will most likely fall apart.

Recipe adapted from here

I ate 11 for dinner.  But hey, that was only equivalent to about a 1/2 cup of quinoa. 😉 
This meal is healthy and friggin delicious!

Does anyone else have favorite healthy pizza flavor alternatives?

P.S. don’t forget to follow me on twitter @cassijordan.